

Our Structure and Working Groups – Updated Jan 2025

Formal Meetings:

Meeting	Members
Parish Council	John Anderson – Chair Victoria Adams Catherine Drew Laura Edmonds John McDermott Margaret McDonald Louise Smith Simon Taylor
Planning Committee	Simon Taylor – Chair
Applications, borough planning, core strategy, village design statements, appeals, enforcement issues	All members of the Parish Council are members of this committee
Subgroup of residents & councillors: Neighbourhood Plan	Joint Leads: Simon Taylor (Parish Council) TBD (Resident) Members: TBD

Working Groups, Subgroups and Areas of Responsibility:

Area	Members
Communication Oversees our ongoing communications, projects and actions. This includes our website, newsletter, social media and annual report, media liaison and crisis and reputation management.	John McDermott – Lead Laura Edmonds Margaret McDonald
Education, Health and Wellbeing Proposes and monitors projects and actions in relation to local education, health and wellbeing issues, including: Wokingham Borough Council Health and Social Care, South Central Ambulance Service, the Clinical Commissioning Group, Swallowfield Medical Practice, Swallowfield Community Responders, Heartstart Swallowfield, Citizens' Advice Wokingham and the Calico Trust.	Simon Taylor – Lead Margaret McDonald John Anderson Louise Smith
Environment & Rural Affairs Proposes and monitors projects and actions in relation to our green spaces and the natural environment. This includes areas such as The Marshes, Van Demans, Swallowfield Meadow and the Community Orchard, as well as footpaths. It also involves maintaining links with Wokingham Borough Council, having a biodiversity plan, waste and recycling and NAG and RCAG meetings. Also proposes and monitors projects and actions to help address the climate emergency, working in collaboration with our other working groups where relevant.	Louise Smith – Lead Margaret McDonald
Subgroup of residents and councillors: Van Demans project	Angela King (Resident) – Lead Margaret McDonald Louise Smith plus residents
Finance Oversees our finances, including budgets, investments, accounts and annual returns, bank accounts and reserves, the precept, grants, CIL receipts, asset management, risk assessment, health and safety, audit and insurance.	John Anderson – Lead Catherine Drew Laura Edmonds

Area	Members
Halls Oversees the general maintenance, upkeep and running of our halls. This includes marketing, compliance, health and safety, engagement with users and safeguarding.	Margaret McDonald – Lead Catherine Drew John McDermott
Human Resources Overseas our members of staff and all HR matters, including performance management and appraisals, recruitment, staff training, remuneration, staff wellbeing & discipline.	Catherine Drew – Lead John Anderson Margaret McDonald
Property Overseas our premises and properties including Fieldfare Court, Swallowfield Parish Stores, our halls and clubhouse buildings (structure, fixtures & fittings), leases, grazing licences and land titles.	Catherine Drew – Lead John Anderson Simon Taylor John McDermott
Recreation Proposes and monitors projects and actions in relation to our recreation grounds and play areas, football pitches, tennis courts and RSF Tennis Club, the skate park; allotments and Swallowfield Parish Allotment Association (SPAA).	Laura Edmonds – Lead Simon Taylor
Resilience Proposes and monitors projects and actions in relation to certain threats and issues, including flooding, ditches, rivers and sewerage. This also includes wider involvement with issues relating to public safety, a Local Emergency Plan and emergency equipment. Subgroup of residents and councillors: Elocal Resilience Group (ERG)	Margaret McDonald – Lead Graham Stanley (Resident) – Lead
Flood Resilience Group (FRG) Transport	Lead Margaret McDonald plus residents Simon Taylor – Lead
Proposes and monitors projects and actions in relation to road issues, Speedwatch, public and private transport.	